Home > DJ PROMOS > DJ PROMO: Lord Echo – ‘Curiosities’ Album Sampler

DJ PROMO: Lord Echo – ‘Curiosities’ Album Sampler

November 21st, 2013

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Stream tracks above (skip with arrows)

Bastard Jazz Recordings presents the sophomore album Curiosities by New Zealand multi-instrumentalist and producer Lord Echo (aka Mike Fabs). An enticing sonic excursion that effortlessly transcends genre and geography, the release finds Echo flexing his dual-mastery of 60′s production techniques and modern dancefloor aesthetics, while highlighting the vocal prowess of his soulful compatriots through a flowing blend of boogie-laced Funk, disco-primed Dub, futuristic Soul, and timeless African rhythms.

Curiosities picks up right where his first album Melodies left off, with sun-drenched psychedelic dub sounds of tracks like “Bohemian Idol” (featuring vocals by Toby Laing of Fat Freddy’s Drop), and the jerky funk vibes of cuts like “Digital Haircut”. The album provides a wealth of DJ fodder, with forward thinking 70s-inspired disco tunes such as “Molten Lava” (featuring the soaring vocals of Leila Adu), as well as analog Afro-infused burners like “Put It In My Head” (complemented by the golden-voiced Mara TK of Electric Wire Hustle fame). Another highlight from the album is Echo’s driving cover-version of the Pharoah Sanders & Leon Thomas classic “The Creator Has a Master Plan”, uplifted by the soulful singing of Lisa Tomlins.

This DJ promo features the two lead singles from the album, which is now available on LP, CD and Digital (BUY NOW). Also check out the mix from Rich Medina after the jump, along with the full album stream.


1. “Molten Lava” (feat. Leila Adu)
2. “Digital Haircut”


DJ PROMOS , , , , , , ,

  1. luis martinez
    November 21st, 2013 at 14:38 | #1

    digital haircut is my fav great track

  2. November 22nd, 2013 at 09:31 | #2

    I’m really digging “Digital Haircut”. Funk brought to the future.

  3. November 22nd, 2013 at 14:57 | #3

    Great album top to bottom. Ghost Hands made biggest initial impression, but also big on Molten Lava, Put it in My Head, Digital Haircut

  4. November 24th, 2013 at 21:26 | #4

    This record is a destined classic. Dropped it the other night… disco explosion. Full support!

  5. November 25th, 2013 at 14:52 | #5

    Absolutely wonderful album. Can’t help singing along to “Molten Lava” and “Bohemian Idol” is absolutely lethal.

  6. November 25th, 2013 at 16:07 | #6

    it’s simple: one of the albums of 2013. and beyond, like a dub chamber echoing over and over again again again again . . .

  7. Nick Davies
    November 27th, 2013 at 14:57 | #7

    Really cool grooves

  8. December 4th, 2013 at 22:52 | #8

    Nice progressive funk and soul made for the dance floor. Check this album out on MOOVIN’ IN THE RIGHT DIRECTION RADIO 89.5FM CIUT.FM in Toronto

  9. December 10th, 2013 at 17:06 | #9

    Great collection and well mixed. Thank you for providing. Several songs have been added to our playlist!

  10. December 12th, 2013 at 04:47 | #10

    will play 1 & 2 several times.
    Thank you!

  11. Chris Pagli
    December 12th, 2013 at 12:03 | #11

    Great lounge grooves!

  12. December 20th, 2013 at 08:53 | #12

    wonderful take on fusing rare groove, funk and afro lava..refreshing to say the least. instrumentation is crazy dopeness.

    bohemian idol
    digital haircut
    street knowledge is a insurmountable banger

  1. No trackbacks yet.